Blog

Advocacy Opportunity: HB 1240

From Texans Care for Children:
HB 1240 is a bill to support parents receiving important information about their children’s development.

New parents are often overwhelmed by all there is to learn about how to keep a child healthy and developmentally on track, during a period of rapid growth and change: the first years of a child’s life.

Resources are available to help parents understand young children’s comprehensive growth and developmental needs, while also alerting them to potential red flags in healthy development and to opportunities to connect their children with environments and resources that can make a lasting difference. The challenge lies with getting these resources into the hands of new parents throughout Texas.

This bill will be heard by the House Public Health Committee
after 8 a.m., Tuesday, March 10
***WHAT YOU CAN DO***

The state has an opportunity to empower caretakers with information that can help establish early positive parenting habits and increase families’ awareness of resources that can bring long-term positive effects for their children’s development.

  1. Contact members of the House Public Health Committee. If you support having a guide about early childhood needs given to new parents in Texas, please contact the committee members below by e-mail or phone. You can also come to the committee hearing in room E2.012 of the Capitol Building to put in a card of support.
  2. Forward this email on to other supporters of young children, so they know they can take action.

House Committee on Public Health

Chair – Rep. Lois Kolkhorst: lois.kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0600

Vice Chair – Rep. Elliot Naishtat: elliot.naishtat@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0668

Rep. Garnet Coleman: garnet.coleman@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0524

Rep. John Davis: john.davis@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0734

Rep. Veronica Gonzales: veronica.gonzales@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0578

Rep. Chuck Hopson: chuck.hopson@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0592

Rep. Susan King: susan.king@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0718

Rep. Jodie Laubenberg: jodie.laubenberg@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0186

Rep. Jim McReynolds: jim.mcreynolds@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0490

Rep. Vicki Truitt: vicki.truitt@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0690

Rep. John Zerwas: john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us (512) 463-0657

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.