Blog

From Texans Care for Children: Tell the Texas Senate You Support HB 130

***Please take a moment to call or email the Senate Education Committee members below about quality, full-day pre-kindergarten for Texas children***


Before Thursday, contact the Senate Education Committee to say you support HB 130. The bill is scheduled to be heard by the committee at 8 a.m., May 14 in E1.028. Contact the members below and urge them to advance the quality pre-K bill out of committee.

TECEC, the Texas Early Childhood Education Coalition, notes: “The benefits of high-quality pre-k have been widely recognized by education researchers, economists, and business professionals. …Investing in high-quality pre-k programs leads to fewer children entering the juvenile justice system, fewer special education referrals, less grade retention, decreased dropout rates, and reduced child welfare costs. Those facts come straight from Texas’ own Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University. The conservative cost-benefit analysis found that every $1.00 invested in high quality pre-kindergarten programs returns at least $3.50 back to local communities.”

Senate Education Committee

Chair – Sen. Florence Shapiro: florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0108
Vice Chair – Sen. Dan Patrick: dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0107

Sen. Kip Averitt: kip.averitt@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-012
Sen. Wendy Davis: wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0110
Sen. Mario Gallegos, Jr.: mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0106
Sen. Steve Ogden: steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0105
Sen. Leticia Van de Putte: leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0126
Sen. Royce West: royce.west@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-012
Sen. Tommy Williams: tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us (512) 463-0104

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.